Duncan & McCann impress in Dromore RR 2017

Posted by on Sunday, July 2, 2017 Under: Road Race
The 9th edition of the annual Dromore Road Race took place on Saturday 24th June with a fantastic turnout with just under 500 entries. The event holds a competitive 10K, 5K fun run and a 5K Walk taking in the picturesque Riverside Walk. With a DJ, bouncy castle and refreshments, the popular roiad race provided a fantastic atmosphere with many families coming out to support.

Stephen Duncan (Omagh Harriers) was immediately the favourite when he entered on the morning but had a battle up until about 8K with Stephen Cassidy of Enniskillen Running Club before breaking free and taking the 2017 honours in 33.38. Cassidy was close behind in 34 minutes followed by a local up and coming athlete Conor Maguire from Dromore (Omagh Harriers). Duncan has remained unbeaten in Dromore.

Top female in the 10K was local Dromore woman Sinead McCann (Omagh Triathlon Club) who went unchallenged and led from the start crossing the line in 43.27. Anne McFarland (Dumfries Running Club) was second in 46.19 with Liz O'Brien from Dromore third in 46.34.

There was great support from Knockmany Runners with a number of athletes from the club claiming 10K category prizes.

The 5K winner was Shane McGlone of Carmen Runners in 20.01 while first female was Sorcha Mullen from Tattyreagh in 21.14 and actually finished 3rd over the line.

There was a great turnout from St. John's Business & Enterprise College as well as Dromore Walking Group.

The 10K Road Race Winners are:

1 Stephen Duncan Omagh Harriers (33.38)
2 Stephen Cassidy Enniskillen Running Club (34.00)
3 Conor Maguire Omagh Harriers (36.08)

13 Sinead McCann Omagh Triathlon Club (43.27)
27 Anne MacFarlane Dumfries Running Club (46.19)
29 Liz O'Brien Dromore (46.34)

The 5K winners are:

1 Shane McGlone Carmen Runners (20.01) 
2 Dylan Sloan Strathroy AC (20.54) 
3 Fabian O'Neill Dromore (21.37)

1 Sorcha Mullan Tattyreagh (21.14)
2 Grainne MacRory Dromore Ladies GFC (23.55)
3 Niamh Mc Carthy Carrick Aces Athletic Club (23.56)

10K Category Winners:
M35: Darren Wallace (Foyle Valley Athletics Club) ; F35: Tracey Scullion (Knockmany Runners) 
M45: Marty McDermott (Sperrin Harriers) ; F45: Dympna McGowan (Knockmany Runners)
M55: Tommy Gartland (Knockmany runners): F55: Brid McCann (Omagh Harriers)...

M65: Michael McCoy, Dromore


In : Road Race 

Tags: dromore  running 

Make a free website with Yola